2016 Laskey Charrette Winners

2016 Laskey Charrette first prize winners, Eve Bobrow, Gus Anderson, and Qin Ye Chen, with moderator Erik M. Hemingway

Posted by February 1, 2016

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Laskey Charrette:

First Prize:

Gus Anderson
Eve Bobrow
Qin Ye Chen

Honorable Mention:

Kristen Patino
Yulin Peng
Rebecca Resnic

Honorable Mention:

Jenny Li
Mingxi Li
Yin Li

For this weekend-long design intensive, sophomore architecture students worked in teams to tackle the design challenge Through the Roof: LA [Eichler] Addition issued by moderator Erik M. Hemingway, an associate professor of design in the School of Architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Joseph Eichler was a 20th-century real estate developer who built over 11,000 houses in California. Colloquially known as the “Eichler Houses,” the homes utilized the latest forms of prefabrication to create slick, modern spaces at an affordable price. Students were challenged to develop a 400-sf studio addition to the roof of an existing Eichler House designed by A. Quincy Jones. Their proposals considered additions ranging from rooftop gardens to sustainable cooking studios.